Lego Holiday Building Competition

In early December there was a festive building competition held by Brickset to create something original using just the two 2014 promotional holiday sets. Prizes included new 2015 sets. The first set was available with purchase in October, but the submissions really ramped up when the 2nd of the two sets became available during Black Friday weekend in the end of November. Here’s what I had to work with.

Toy Workshop 40106

40106_alt1

Winter Skating Scene 40107

40107_alt1

The challenge was to take these two sets, dump them out, and make something new and original and holiday themed. There were so many awesome submissions! There really was quite a range to the creativity. In the end, a panel of judges selected what they believed to be the best of the bunch.

My Experience:

I’m sorry to say my submission wasn’t among those selected, but it was such a fun thing to do! Sometimes it breeds creativity to have a certain amount of stipulations. In this case, only being able to use a certain number of pieces was fun, you had limits, which in the world of Lego, is a welcome challenge. There were a lot of great pieces to work with too! When I threw all the pieces out, I really wasn’t sure what I was gonna come up with, I just started sticking pieces together, and to my amazement, quite quickly, I had a direction to focus on. I wanted to make some sort of display vignette. After playing with the pieces for a few minutes and setting a base, I discovered what I was going to build: an Elf Wedding. Below were my two pictures submitted of the set I created.

IMG_0871 IMG_0872
I had the runway, some present-like decoration along the sides, bride and groom elves with their diamonds, a pastor, and an altar with a lot of festive decoration, along with the notion that elves must have some sort of love ceremony, and what better season than the holiday season for an elf to get married? The most coveted of all wedding dates I’m sure. I was very happy with what I was able to throw together, in a short amount of time, with very little changes. I played with the decorations along the aisle a bit, and in the end extended the runway. Like I said, it was a fun exercise to build something using a limited set of pieces, it really made you think about each piece you were using and if it were necessary, much like I would think Lego designers must do when creating sets.

Thanks to Lego and the folks at Brickset for hosting this competition. Such a fun thing to do, especially around the holidays, and really promotes creativity! I hope to see things like this in the future!

j.

Leave a Reply

