Sanding Blocks

NEW SANDING BLOCKS!!!

Acrylic sanding blocks.

Acrylic sanding blocks.

That’s right folks, a post that only those that work on guitars could appreciate. You’re welcome.

For years I’ve been using a combination of a basic 3M sanding block and a small art gum eraser.

3M block and Artgum eraser.

3M block and Artgum eraser.

To be honest I barely used the larger 3M block, usually for dry sanding during prep with lower grits. When it came to all the rigorous wet sanding, I would primarily use the art gum eraser, for years! Recently, after noticing my small eraser starting to fall apart, I finally wised up and realized maybe there was something better I could be using that might speed up the process. It takes a long time to cover a guitar front and back with a thing the size of a 9V battery. It’s still handy when I need to just focus on a small area, and it has a bit of flex which comes in handy going around the curves and sides.

My brother built a CNC machine from scratch this past year and always has handy materials around, so I thought to ask him for some acrylic. He had a small piece of scrap that would be perfect, 1/2″ thick, 2″ x 5″. So he cut it into a couple pieces for me. I thought it would be nice to have a couple options, so he cut a 2″ x 2″ square and a slightly larger 2″ x 3″. The picture on the left shows the pieces as he gave them to me. I just took the palm sander to the edges, rounding them out and flattening the sides, giving them a more “finished” look, as seen on the right.

Rough cut of new acrylic sanding blocks.

Rough cut of new acrylic sanding blocks.

Acrylic sanding blocks with polished edges.

Acrylic sanding blocks with polished edges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Acrylic sanding block in action.

Acrylic sanding block in action.

These work marvelously. With a perfectly flat, hard surface, not too big, not too small, I feel like I’m getting a much better use of my energy, time, and sand paper. Super easy to clean and dry. And it covers the surface area of the guitar really well. I find I lean towards the 2″ x 2″ one more often, just more versatile I think.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still use the old blocks, but it’s great to have a combination of sizes and materials to choose from now.

Sanding block collection.

Sanding block collection.

Happy sanding!

j.

Leave a Reply

